About Study New York

Study New York was founded in 2009 and is one of the largest consortiums of colleges and universities in the U.S. comprised of independent (private, non-profit), State University of New York (SUNY), and City University of New York (CUNY) colleges and universities.

Study New York works collaboratively with its member colleges, universities, and partners through special programs and global outreach to promote New York State internationally as the premier education destination for students, researchers, visiting professors and other exchange visitors.

The consortium is governed by a Board of Directors elected from its membership and includes Officers, Members-at-Large, and Non-Voting Liaisons.  The liaisons are representatives from the City University of New York (CUNY), the Commission on Independent Colleges and Universities (CICU), the New York State Department of Economic Development, the State University of New York (SUNY), and the U.S. Commercial Service.

The goals of the consortium are acted on through the work of the Board of Directors, standing and ad-hoc committees, and the volunteer efforts of representatives from member campuses.

Questions concerning the consortium can be sent to email@studynewyork.us and will be forwarded to the proper board member.

Study New York Board of Directors


Position Member Institution Term
Chair Doug Langhans SUNY Cortland 01/01/2018 – 12/31/2019
Chair Elect TBD
Past Chair Monica Esser Fordham University 01/01/2018 – 12/31/2019
Treasurer Alexander Polk New York University 03/01/2018 – 12/31/2020
Secretary Stephen Sobierajski Culinary Institute of America


Member Institution Term
Lena Adely Manhattanville College 01/01/2017 – 12/31/2018
Amy Arcario St. John’s University 01/01/2018 – 12/31/2019
Katherine Beczak Rochester Institute of Technology 01/01/2018 – 12/31/2019
Toral Bhatt Concordia College 01/01/2018 – 12/31/2019
Maria Conzatti Nassau Community College 01/01/2018 – 12/31/2019
Karla Engel-Molnar The College of St. Rose 01/01/2018 – 12/31/2019
John C. McLoughlin Concordia College 01/01/2018 – 12/31/2019
Alan Sabal The City College of New York – CUNY 01/01/2018 – 12/31/2019
Arlene Spencer Fulton-Montgomery Community College 01/01/2018 – 12/31/2019
Stephen Sobierajski Culinary Institute of America 01/01/2018 – 12/31/2019
Robert H. Summers SUNY – Buffalo State College 01/01/2018 – 12/31/2019

Non-Voting Liaisons

Member Organization
Kathryn Bamberger NYS Department of Economic Development
Mark Ciolli City University of New York (CUNY)
Joan Kanlian U.S. Commercial Service
Susan Nesbitt Perez Commission on Independent Colleges and Universities (CICU)
James Pasquill State University of New York (SUNY)

Appointed Position

 Ward Deutschman – Communications Director